The Vice-Chancellor’s Professional Services Awards:

vc awards

The Vice-Chancellor’s Professional Services Awards recognise the extraordinary contribution that colleagues in administrative, professional and support roles make to the University, and to furthering Oxford’s academic mission.   

In particular they will celebrate colleagues who demonstrate the principles of Professional Services Together – the University’s framework for spreading best practice across our professional services.  

Award categories

There is a total of six Professional Services Awards categories, spread across the core Professional Services Together areas of People, Quality and Collaboration. 


People Development Award: for colleagues who have demonstrated a commitment to helping others around them to develop professionally and in their careers (for example, through supporting Communities of Practice or through mentoring and coaching) 

Role Model Award: for colleagues who are inspiring leaders  


Outstanding Support Award: for colleagues who have put the needs of staff, students and other groups at the heart of how they deliver their services 

Making Things Better Award: for colleagues who have challenged and improved processes (in particular those who have embraced continuous improvement approaches) 


Collaborating Across Oxford Award: for a group of people who have worked in a collaborative way across the collegiate University, especially those who have embraced the aims and values of Professional Services Together.


One or more of the shortlisted entries will also be put forward for the Registrar’s Award for Outstanding Contribution, where it is felt there is a commitment to all three key areas of Professional Services Together, and to supporting the University’s mission. 

  • The awards are open to anyone in an administrative, professional or support role working in the collegiate University in Grades 1–10 with more than six months’ service 
  • Activities are eligible for nomination if they took place, at least in part, during the 2021/22 academic year – from 1 October 2021 to 30 September 2022 
  • Applicants should ensure that they demonstrate the alignment of work with relevant aspects of Professional Services Together (the judging panel may decide not to shortlist or award submissions that do not clearly make this case) 
  • All awards (apart from the Collaborating Across Oxford award) are open to nominations of individuals or groups of colleagues 

Award-specific eligibility 

Collaborating Across Oxford Award: nominees must comprise a group made up of two or more colleagues from at least two different units/functions/departments of the University 

How to enter

Once you have read about the awards and the eligibility criteria, you can make a nomination via this Microsoft Form.  

A full Word version of this form can be accessed to help you consider your responses to the questions. However, you must submit your nomination via the online form.

Any member of staff (regardless of their role) can make a nomination. You can nominate yourself or others – either individually, or as part of a team. 

When you make a nomination, you will be asked for your name. You can choose not to share this with the person you are nominating, if you wish. 

You do not need to tell those you are nominating that you are doing so – although you may choose to do this as a courtesy. 

If you are unable to access the form, please contact to find out about alternative methods of entering. 

The deadline for nominations is 5pm, Friday 9 December 2022.  

More information

Nominees will be informed about whether they have been shortlisted by the end of January 2023.  

Entries will be judged by a panel chaired by the Registrar, including representatives from across the University Administrative Services, Gardens, Libraries and Museums, academic departments and divisions.  

The winners of the awards will be announced at a ceremony hosted by the Vice-Chancellor at the Examination Schools on Tuesday, 21 March 2023. 

The Vice-Chancellor’s Professional Services Awards are designed to celebrate the contribution of our colleagues to the University. Winners do not receive financial rewards. You can find out about the University’s separate reward and recognition scheme on the HR Support website.   

If you have any questions that are not answered on this webpage, please email

Enter now

Nomination form