Oxford welcomes this year's incoming Statutory Professors

Statutory Professors are the most senior level of academic appointment at Oxford, providing academic leadership within their departments, in the wider University and beyond.

The 2021/22 cohort included a range of specialisms from artificial intelligence and astrophysics to archaeology and international relations. Five of the new Statutory Professors already worked at Oxford and are joined by academics from institutions elsewhere in the UK, Europe and the US.

Their appointment follows an Inclusive Recruitment project which aims to achieve greater diversity in academic recruitment and meet external requirements for the assessment of research quality.

Professor Anne Trefethen, Pro-Vice Chancellor (People & Digital), said:

We are delighted to welcome our new Statutory Professors who have joined us from around the world, as well as to celebrate the talents of the colleagues who have been promoted to Statutory Professor level from within Oxford.

Our new Statutory Professors come from a wide range of institutions and backgrounds, and we look forward to seeing how they will enhance our world-leading research programmes and inspire and nurture their colleagues and students here in Oxford.

The full list of Statutory Professors is:


Professor Kate Crosby, Numata Professorship of Buddhist Studies

Professor Karen Leeder, Schwarz-Taylor Professorship of the German Language and Literature

Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences

Professor Emmanuel Breuillard, Professorship of Pure Mathematics

Professor Michael Bronstein, DeepMind Professorship of Artificial Intelligence

Professor Max Gubinelli, Wallis Professorship of Mathematics

Professor Saiful Islam | Professorship of Materials Modelling

Professor Stephen Smartt | Philip Wetton Professorship of Astrophysics

Professor Nobuko Yoshida | Christopher Strachey Professorship of Computing

Medical Sciences

Professor Ivan Ahel, EP Abraham Professorship of Chemical Pathology

Professor Zheng-Ming Chen, Richard Peto Professorship of Epidemiology

Professor Ben Goldacre, Bennett Professorship of Evidence-Based Medicine

Professor Michael Dustin, Kennedy Trust Professor of Molecular Immunology

Professor David Hodson | Robert Turner Professorship of Diabetic Medicine

Social Sciences

Professor Daniel Armanios, BT Professorship of Major Programme Management

Professor Shadreck Chirikure, Edward Hall Professorship of Archaeological Science

Professor Paola Conconi, BP Professorship of Economics

Professor Neta Crawford, Montague Burton Professorship of International Relations

Professor Juliane Reinecke | Professorship of Management Studies

Professor Iyiola Solanke | Jacques Delors Professorship of European Community Law


To find out more about the Inclusive Recruitment project, watch a recording of one the showcase events that took place last year.